SMP Scaleway track and Marcway points

• RMweb Premium

I'm considering using SMP Scaleway 00 track and Marcway points for my new layout.

Their websites seem archaic and out-of-date. I gather you can order Marcway points from the Sheffield shop, but I was wondering where you guys recommend as suppliers...

Cheers,

Jeff

Jeff, for plain track I think I would go with C&L. This comes in a variety of profiles. You can get it in meter lengths and also buy half meter lengths of rail and sleeper bases. C&L also produce points kits and for a price, will supply the hard bits (crossing and blades). I have no experience with Marcway - someone posted a picture of one of their points in another thread and I was impressed by its appearance. My personal preference is to make points myself.

John

• RMweb Premium

Jeff, for plain track I think I would go with C&L. This comes in a variety of profiles. You can get it in meter lengths and also buy half meter lengths of rail and sleeper bases. C&L also produce points kits and for a price, will supply the hard bits (crossing and blades). I have no experience with Marcway - someone posted a picture of one of their points in another thread and I was impressed by its appearance. My personal preference is to make points myself.

John

Thanks John. All options are still open at the moment, though I doubt I'll end up building my own points. Thanks for your reply.

Jeff

We have used SMP track and mostly copperclad points on various exhibition layouts for the last 30+ years with no problems. Granted in EM but the product is basically the same.

• RMweb Premium

Which website are you using?

they have a very out of date one that comes up in google searches still but the "real" one now is

http://www.modelrailways.me.uk/

I use them for bits (copperclad sleepers and rail)

Thanks very much for that. It's an improvement on the 2004 site that Google takes me to!

I've emailed Marcway re. current prices, so we'll see how we go!

Jeff