Problems with Milliput filler

All,

This may seem like a silly question, but I am a bit of an amateur modeller and never used this stuff until now.

I bought some Milliput white from a shop online and it promptly arrived. I had never used it before so was slightly apprehensive and followed the instructions for use as best I could. Yet when actually applying it to part of one of my model coaches to fill in a window, (with the plasticard already blanking it from behind) it didn't seem to really take to the plastic very well. I had previously buffed the plastic to be filled with a file so it would be rough and take slightly better. I had kept my hands moist as the instructions advised aswell but this stuff just would not stick. When it finally did, I had to leave so much excess on top that it needed lots of filing and sanding afterwards. However when filing down with a metal file, all it did was 'block' up the metal file and didn't leave a very good finish. I wanted a really smooth surface but it didn't take very well at all. It said in the instructions that if you smoothed it with a wet finger before drying it would smooth off the surface and when I tried this on another piece, all it did was soak it and it subsequently took ages to dry and didn't leave a smooth finish. What is it that I'm doing wrong, is there some kind of trade secret with this stuff?

Many thanks

Tom

Tom,

Sounds like you followed the instructions well. You can microwave the milliput for a few seconds. This will soften it quite a bit and will make it harden very quickly soon after too. So initially it is easier to work into the gap but also the sanding can begin quicker too. Milliput is amazing stuff, I have used it, quite safely to stick rock and live coral together underwater - and it still goes off without any toxic effect!