ex-LNER O4/5 in EM

This is my first attempt at writing up a little project of modifying a RTR locomotive - I'm more than happy to take constructive criticism, advice etc. - equally, I'm happy to answer questions. My motto is 'Failure is on the road to success' so I try not to worry about taking a chance on things. I've had a few failures - usually due to trying to take short cuts or by rushing into action when further thought would have been the wiser counsel. If it happens, I try to take it on the chin and use the experience to improve. I have modelled in P4, EM and OO and found EM to be the perfect compromise for me. But I always feel that it's the atmosphere that a model creates is the most important thing.

Well,  I finally got around to making a start on one of the 2 O4/5 bodies purchased last year from Bill Bedford (Moussa Models). First of all for anyone who is not aware, these are 3D 'prints' designed to fit on to the Bachman O4 running plate. The finish on these bodies are not of the same standard as brass or even of a half decent whitemetal kit. However, I have to say that he has certainly captured the atmosphere of the O4/5 prototype and I'm hoping that with a determined effort of rubbing down and some filling, a good model can be produced. I would emphasise that Bill has acknowledged the present drawbacks of the 3D printing and I believe he is at present considering other solutions including using a 3D print as a basis for resin cast bodies.

I have already seen a completed O4/5 built in OO which runs on the exhibition layout 'Gamston Bank' which I saw at the East Midlands Model Railway Exhibition this year. It had been finished superbly well. I briefly discussed it with the builder (really sorry - it's an age thing - but I can't remember his name) and I can only hope that I can emulate that standard.