RMweb

Building a MMP 16t mineral wagon kit

flexible_coupling

Hi everyone,

I got given a 'Diagram 1/109' rivetted 16t mineral wagon kit from MMP as a christmas present (has been on special), which arrived earlier today - missed Christmas but it'll still provide a lot of fun for the upcoming days! Now - I have a modest amount of prior experience with soldering etched brass kits... but I'll be first to admit humbly that it's been a while! As most people (and the website) clearly recommends - these aren't really intended for people to dive into as absolute beginners. But not having worked in the medium for a few years (but still possessing the memories of the skills), I was able to pick up and work with the first few steps in the underframe construction quite easily, with only minor 'mess' in the first few joints that won't be seen anyhow. It's a serious kit, with probably 500 parts as a generous guess, but I fancy that someone with patience and having put together a Connoisseur beginner kit cleanly and successfully would be able to accomplish this kit...... over the course of a good number of sessions!

My aim is to document this as I go - from the perspective of a non-professional modeller that has the basic grounding in the techniques. There seems to be a surprising lack of progress build photos online for this family of kits... this looks to end up being a stunning kit, and I fancy, deserves exposure and to have a few more people taking a punt...

20131227_125318_zps8jz4m6bw.jpg

The packed kit, with the pewter castings, brass bits and phosphor bronze etched WORKING LEAF SPRING etch (!!) to the side. All that's missing is wheels and bearings; I have an incorrect 8-spoke set here that I will temporarily steal from the other wagon I have here, a nearly-complete Slaters/Coopercraft one-plank, for the purposes of assembly. 

20131227_225623_zpsm9ytcrmf.jpg