TERRACED HOUSE BACKS

As a change, I have decided to have a go at several typical Hull "House Backs", finding the dimensions is not a problem, I measure my own "Des Res". Though to suit my c1962 time scale I have removed all the "Plastic Windows" and reverted to the original Victorian "Sash Windoew" of c1895 when the houses were built.

Attached a couple of photo's of progress so far. The entire model is from Plasticard, the windows are cut from sheet and laminated, the sashbars of the bottom right-hand window are a little on the thick side, a few strokes with a neddle file are needed. Some work is required on the brick work, it certainly needs toneing down a little. Apart from my Sallyfield Jct signalbox  of a few years ago, my first attempt at scenic modelling for many years.

post-702-0-90473900-1414500650_thumb.jpg

post-702-0-10180000-1414500673_thumb.jpg

HUll has some quite interesting working class housing. I remember when I was a conveyancing solicitor looking at some plans and being amazed at just how many houses were crammed into such a small space.

Dean

David, many thanks for your constructive comment. I looked at several houses nearby and the bonding is "Interesting", and often "Headers and Stretchers" mixed, as you can see from the attached photo, part of my house as the "Headers" six courses apart. Short of scribing my own bricks I will live with the "Incorrect" bond. The finished houses will be at the back of the layout, and when completed, there will be no large expanses of brick work, most elavations will be broken up with doors and windows. Again thanks for your comments.

Rovex, yes there are or were some good family houses in Hull.

post-702-0-34781100-1414502431_thumb.jpg

Ps, I will build the rest of the houses from Slater's Flemish Bond brick, it will be more pleaseing to the eye, and in anycase, I'm not modelling actual houses, just typical ones.

• RMweb Premium