Micro Switches

sb67

Can anyone tell me if this type of microswitch can be used to change point polarity? It would be operated by the end of a push rod which switches the point. Seen loads for sale on e bay, some are really cheap!

Thanks.

Steve.  

post-24-0-94651600-1488397084.jpg

Yes.  You can also drive them direct off the point motor or off the end of the tie bar. if you don't have motors or remote operation.   I have been using them for over 20 years

on DC without a single failure

• RMweb Gold

Notwithstanding DavidCB's comment, I tried using some for indicating if a hidden siding was occupied (push the train back against the switch at the end of the line). The spring was far too strong for the weight of the train.

My point (sorry...) is the spring might be too strong for the push rod and not allow the point to be switched, or stay switched.

You can usually solder to the operating arm, eg a long piece of stiff copper wire or brass strip, and then they operate at the lightest touch. The other thing is to watch the connections, not what you would expect. Some have a picture on the side, the changeover contact will be one end, not the middle.

They are fine. They are a standard size product so you can find the same thing in a variety of qualities, but most will be good enough for what you want. You will have to be careful when positioning so that the activation point is just on the balance to prevent too much force being applied one way, you might like to use a pair operating from both ways to balance to force. Use the smallest type you can find.

The V4 style microswitches are quite cheap anyway so if you need a few don't bother with eBay - go straight to an electronics distributor and get a reasonable quality product that will last. Some at Rapid here:-

https://www.rapidonline.com/rvfm-subminiature-v4-microswitches-73543

• RMweb Premium