The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

The Great Skype Interview Bookcase Cliché

luckymucklebackit

Come on, you can help but have noticed it, since Skype interviews have become the norm It seems to be an essential feature to be interviewed in front of as big a set of bookshelves as possible, I am convinced the so called "experts" and politicians are vying with each other to have the most impressive selection of books so that they look more learned than the others. I need to get my vast collection of Scottish Railway books dug out of storage and displayed just in case the call comes!!

Jim

Edited by luckymucklebackit
  • Agree 3
  • Funny 4

Or less cynically it’s because they are Skyping from their study, which is where their computer and books are...

I spend all day in video meetings and tutorials, and my background is just the same, a wall of books, and I’m not attempting to look more learned than anyone else, I just - like any academic - have a lot of books! 

David 

• Like 2
  • Friendly/supportive 2

• RMweb Premium

Video call for work, they just get an empty picture frame behind me (I broke it a while ago but the state of the wall it covers looks even worse - really must get that sorted some day!) In any case my upload speed isn't high enough to do remotely good quality video.

• RMweb Premium

Haha yes, I'd noticed it too, but on reflection if I am on Skype I'd either have bookshelves behind me or if I angle myself so I'm turned slightly sideways, a large picture frame, which currently has one of my own pictures in it, the 747 at France's Musée de l'air et de l'espace, but changes every now and again - a framed old map is another option. 

1 hour ago, luckymucklebackit said:

so called "experts"

Fascinating. I do hope you’re not bothering those so called “expert” doctors when you get ill. Much more sensible to sort it out yourself. What do they know...?!