Coaling stage gradient

TomJ

Looking at the traditional GWR coaling stage how steep would the ramp up to it typically be? And how many wagons at a time would a loco propel up it?

Similar to this - how would a medium sized depot get its coal? Would it be a dedicated block train or frequent drops of a wagon or two from passing goods?

Thanks

Just a reminder. In the real world ( no flat baseboards) the third dimension goes both up and down. It is thus possible to split the difference between the two lines and reduce the necessary gradient. I have no real knowledge or interest in things great Western but many of the typical LNER coal drops had minimal gradient as the road access was lowered to suit. That said, the landsale drops at both Whitwood and Glasshoughton collieries were of train set proportions and a loco often struggled with two fully loaded 20 ton hoppers.

Edited by doilum
Predictive text error
  • Agree 1
  • Thanks 1

1 minute ago, doilum said:

That is fearsome! Must be at least 1:24 even allowing for the foreshortening effect of the camera.

Yes, I was wondering about that as well. What would be the best way of measuring distances from that picture?

e.g. number of sleepers on the siding (below the shed) and assuming a standard-sized pitch from one sleeper to the next.

• Like 1

4 minutes ago, KeithMacdonald said:

Yes, I was wondering about that as well. What would be the best way of measuring distances from that picture?

e.g. number of sleepers on the siding (below the shed) and assuming a standard-sized pitch from one sleeper to the next.

Sounds like a plan. My instant guesstimate was based on the length of the points. This would have given a ridiculous 1:12 so I doubled it!

• Thanks 1

• RMweb Premium