Bachmann vs Lima class 47 Pectinidae?

faa77

Bachmann's Class 47 Pectinidae retails for ~£100 whereas Lima's version on ebay is around £40. Now, with such a price difference I thought I would spot a massive difference from pictures. However, being a newbie I cannot see much difference (I am sure it would be easier in person but there is no shop near me).

Could the more-experienced members please explain how/why the Bachmann model is superior (I assume it is, because I keep reading Lima is very poor quality)? Perhaps its not looks and the Bachmann engine is far superior??

I am trying to gauge whether its worth paying the premium for the Bachmann.

Bachmann's Class 47 Pectinidae retails for ~£100 whereas Lima's version on ebay is around £40. Now, with such a price difference I thought I would spot a massive difference from pictures. However, being a newbie I cannot see much difference (I am sure it would be easier in person but there is no shop near me).

Could the more-experienced members please explain how/why the Bachmann model is superior (I assume it is, because I keep reading Lima is very poor quality)? Perhaps its not looks and the Bachmann engine is far superior??

I am trying to gauge whether its worth paying the premium for the Bachmann.

The key differences are drive system, detail and livery application.

The Bachmann 47 has a central motor with flywheel driving both bogies. Combined with pickups on all wheels means that it will generally run more smoothly and consistently than the Lina version. Also the Bachmann 47 will pull more owing to its greater weight combined with the drive to both bogies. Additionally the Bachmann 47 is DCC ready meaning that, unlike the Lima loco, fitting a decoder is very simple and requires no soldering.

The Bachmann 47 is more detailed than the Lima loco. It has many separately applied parts and flush glazing. It's underframe is accuratel for each particular loco and us far better, with more depth of relief.