The APT-E project comes to life

This , I hope will be the beginning of the project of a lifetime. One that I have been tinkering with since 1985, so far without success. UNTIL NOW.

13134802024_14abd4600c_c.jpg
pop etch 03 by Shane Wilton, on Flickr

13134796754_cc22da3d08_c.jpg
pop etch 07 by Shane Wilton, on Flickr

13134618963_c36e50bae2_c.jpg
pop etch 11 by Shane Wilton, on Flickr

13134513585_6b4fc8c69f_c.jpg
pop etch 06 by Shane Wilton, on Flickr

This is the first step of what should be an interesting project, it is a test etch to see if making the POP Train is possible as an etch. It appears that it is ,so the next stage is to cad it up to the correct length and have this etched. Watch this space!

cheers

Shane

• RMweb Gold

Excuse my ignorance Shane, but what is the 'POP train'?

I think the POP train was an early test-bed for APT-E, where E means experimental, not electric. Thus I think the POP train ran at Old Dalby to test out many of the new ideas that Derby had decided would be needed. These included the tilt and - probably - the hydro-kinetic brakes. I do not think the POP train was actually powered, nor did it need to be at that stage.

I suspect many of us feel the APT was BR's great "near-miss" because so much of it seemed to be going well, but there was ultimately grossly insufficient funding to make the thing work reliably. Whether a cash-strapped, Government-funded organisation should have been allowed to set off down such a long path is also open to question, but I believe that politics played a part here, too, because Derby seemed awash with very bright engineers in need of work, after some private sector enterprises had gone - er - pop!

• RMweb Premium

http://www.apt-e.org/kit/kit.htm

gets you to a page full of information. I am just watching a two hour lecture on the whole project development that I have just downloaded from the site. Absolutely fascinating! Power Nought Power is the derivation of the POP.