RMweb

Gaugemaster CDU help

Good Afternoon all. Can anyone tell me if I am right or wrong on this matter?

I have a Gaugemaster CDU as per photo  that I want to fit into a panel  (stud contact for points) for a mate. The Gaugemaster CDU wiring diagram shows a common return connection. I don't think I need this?  Just connect the live feed?

gmc-cdu.jpg

cdu-diagram-1.jpg

Perhaps I didn't explain well enough. Without the CDU the common return is from  the point to the -  on the track. The independent 16v supply also connects to the - on the track and the probe to the + on the same supply (this works OK)

so if I add the CDU unit does the  - have to go through the CDU unit? Basically the problem for me is the control panel I am building is removable so that the connection is a Male/Female 25 way D plug and if I put the CDU inside the panel then I have to  use 2 terminals (1in 1 out) for the Common return. Actually as I am a belt and bracers kind of guy I like to use  2 wires to each connection for reliability.

If I put the CDU outside the panel  (and wire the common return through it) then I would only have to feed the live feed through the plug but the surge might exceed the rating on the plug.

Picture1.png

Picture2.png

• RMweb Premium

Your original diagram is correct (as is DCB's).

What you MUST NOT do is connect the input side of the CDU and the output side BOTH to the common return.

The common return side should be connected to the output only.

So in your wiring 25 way D plug, you need 2 (at least - because your duplication is a good idea) for the input, a 3rd for the common return and your contact probe will be the 4th.

• Like 1

Right, if I have this right, your "Mate" has built a layout which uses the track negative rail as a common return for the point motors. You want to keep this to avoid re wiring everything. so want track negative to to connect CDU Common to track negative.    Well  It ought to work.