Hornby Chip

Mike Smith

Hi All

Total newbie question ...

Seems to be a distinct shortage of the Horby DCC chips (stating obvious)

I have a number of Hornby DCC Ready locos ..

Is it simply a case of just getting another chip from another manufacturer, and if so which is the best value?

Thanks for reading

Mike

Hi Mike

Yes I noticed the same when in my local model shop last week....maybe you could try a few mail order outlets for them before resorting to other manufacturers, perhaps give a few places a ring first. I happen to mostly use Lenz decoders, mostly the Lenz Standard....but its about £18 minimum.

Good hunting.

Bob

Hi Guys

Thanks for the replies.

To test the water, have ordered two Bachmann decoders from Hattons @ £9 each, not expecting too much - acceleration and deceleration not an issue at the moment. Loft layout in it's infancy.

Mike

Hi Guys

Thanks for the replies.

To test the water, have ordered two Bachmann decoders from Hattons @ £9 each, not expecting too much - acceleration and deceleration not an issue at the moment. Loft layout in it's infancy.

Mike

Bachmann are cheap & cheerful but good for the price. I wouldn't buy Hornby decoders ever.

I agree with the above, don't buy the cheap Hornby decoder.

They have a better model available (Hornby Sapphire) retailing for just under £20, but there are plenty of competent alternatives from reliable manufacturers (e.g. Lenz, TCS, Zimo, ESU etc.).

If you only want a cheap model, the Bachmann 3-function decoders (made by ESU) are decent performers, but you cannot expect the best performance from any budget models .......after all, that's why they're cheap !

The Hornby chip will fit Farrish 66's, 60's and all other pcb Farish locos, their own Bachmann chip is to big laugh.gif the only problem to date with the Hornby chip, going up in smoke, was the Farish EE type 4 (class 40) its on its third chip, next time its back to 12 volt and get rid.

mr B