Weathering Products

Hi all,

I want to start to weather my diesel locos, I have never weathered anything before so I am a complete beginner.

I have read up on the subject only to find that there is a bewildering choice of products ie: a wide range of manufacturers, weathering powders, paints (acrylic and enamel) airbrushes, drybrushing etc.

I know now that this is a broad subject with some modellers having one preference and others using a couple of methods to acheive the desired results, is one way better than another and more user friendly or do all methods just come down to good old practice?

Any information would much appreciated.

Regards

Michael

Practise makes perfect, but practise on some cheap wagons off fleebay and get a feel for the different types of weathering, I personally use acrylic paints, warhammer citadel washes, Mig, Vallejo and Carr's weathering powers all at different stages of the weathering process, once you've got the feel for it research your desired loco at what time in it's life you want it to look like, a good selection of colour pic's if you can the more the merrier, and remember if you go wrong it doesn't matter really some more weathering and it'll be fine, failing that respray it or someone will by it on fleebay :P

I have read up on the subject only to find that there is a bewildering choice of products ie: a wide range of manufacturers, weathering powders, paints (acrylic and enamel) airbrushes, drybrushing etc.

I know now that this is a broad subject with some modellers having one preference and others using a couple of methods to acheive the desired results, is one way better than another and more user friendly or do all methods just come down to good old practice?

Michael, I can see how this is going to go and I wont bemuse you further by simply adding to the mound of info about materials and techniques that you've already amassed, but I'll chuck this in: