Scratchbuilding with Plastikard.

As a novice I intend to model the station and yard buildings for Sedbergh which were originally LNWR.

As far as I can research nothing RTR fits the bill so I am down to scratchbuilding.

For those who have experience what thickness of plastikard do you use for :-

Station Buildings,Goods yard buildings etc.

Internal bracing of above.

I am going plastic as detached double garage can be somewhat damp so I am not too optimistic about card building prospects.

Guidance appreciated.

Thanks

Bob Hughes60

• RMweb Premium

I normally build a shell out of 1mm plain plaisticard, followed by layers of 0.5 to give the brickwork. The internal structure is also 1mm plain stuff. Laminating the stuff with plastic solvent can cause some banana issues at times so expect to use quite a bit of bracing.

Exactly what Kris said. If you start 'building boxes' (and most buildings are!), leave roofs, windows etc until last. If you can still smell styrene solvent (and sometimes it takes ages to dissipate) it is still active. If possible model some doors & windows open.

General tip (if new to the material) - it is not neccessary to completely cut through sheet plastkard - score/fold/snap works well. Keep any straightedge on the 'inside' of the cut line (ie the face that might be seen). Using a blade will raise a slight 'lip' on the opposite side. Use liquid stryrene cement rather than tube & apply with a thin cheap brush. Rather than 'flooding' a join, 'spot' the liqui8d along the join allowing capilliary action to do most of the work.

You WILL make mistakes - but don't be dispirited, we do get better!

Best of luck - look forward to seeing some examples.

Regs

Ian

PS -

If a smoker - DONT when using styrene adhesives. the 'smell' is in fact a very potent vapour with lots of nasty by-products. Mix that with cigarette 'smoke' (also full of lots of nasty by-products) makes a potentially dangerous cocktail.

Puts smug face on - I don't smoke!

Ian