Gloss Paint

RBE

Having loads of stock to repaint on a regular basis I cant help but wonder why all of the railway colours available aren't made in gloss. The answer may seem obvious but lets think. Any repaint job will reqiure at some point to have decals applied. This needs to be over a gloss finish. This means we have to take our nice flat paint, gloss varnish it add decals and then flatten it again. It seems that we are wasting cash on gloss varnish and also the precious time it takes to gloss and wait for it to dry. Has anyone else thought this?

Cheers

Cav

• RMweb Gold

In the past I have used gloss when it is available. As I started painting models before the easy availability of airbrushes I always use a brush. I do find though that it is slightly easier to get a smooth finish with matt or semi matt than gloss.

I don't know which sprays best.

David

The OP raises a pertinent point. Decal manufacturers often state their transfers sit better on gloss finish. I found that HMRS 'Methfix' transfers stick like poo to a blanket on the Humbrol gloss enamel paint I used when doing grained teak finish. So well in fact that they could not be removed without damaging the paintwork. They are noticeably reluctant to adhere to a satin finish though. This applies equally to cellulose paint. Waterslide transfers always sit better on gloss. Anyway it is good modelling practice ot varnish after the transfers are in place.

As regards gloss model paint, this used to be available from Precision Paints and Cherry's some years ago, but I think modellers of the time demanded satin paint. This used to be the difference between amateurs and professionals. The latter mainly sprayed with gloss colours and the final finish was determined by the 'varnish'. Nowadays, more amateurs are turning to car aerosol gloss colours.