End to End early 1990s NSE?

S.A.C Martin

I've been thinking I have been trying to run before I can walk, for some time now. I have been building up stock and buildings, and similar, for a layout based around Copley Hill in the 1950s (and will continue to build stock up as it is my ultimate aim), however the thought occurs that:

a ) I have very little experience building baseboards.

b ) I have very little experience making track look realistic.

c ) Scenery is not something I have done much of either, though I have made a few buildings out of card and similar, here and there.

d ) I've long thought about an end to end layout, but always gone for a roundy round because I like seeing trains run round.

But over the last week, I've been studying some old photographs of my dad's around the Sidcup area, and noted the sheer number of four car and eight car VEP (Class 423) sets that can be seen crossing the railway bridge in Sidcup.

That spurred me to look at a Google map, and see if the idea of making a layout based on Sidcup had merit:

post-1656-0-52623800-1311691911_thumb.png

So you essentially have a double track main line, with a station, railway bridge, and sidings just at the end on the right hand side. So that got me thinking. What about something like this?

post-1656-0-67450000-1311692101_thumb.png

Say you make it as two baseboards, 8x2. You can definitely get the front part of the station in, with the car Park, and perhaps the offices to the left of the car park and "Christopher House", the office block to the left of the station. So the scenic setting is on two 8x2 baseboards and includes the station, the bridge, and the offices, as well as perhaps part of the Sidcup station car Park and the old Metro Bar the other side.