Trackbed, necessary or not..?

Hi all,

Wont keep you guys long. I'm new to railway modelling so please exscuse if the following question seems to have a obvious answer. Anyway i've built my baseboards and planned my layout, is trackbed....cork or underlay neccesary...? Does it affect running or mainly for sound reduction..? The layout is N gauge and in a outbuilding so sound is'nt really an issue.

many thanks

Terry.

Terry,

This has been debated quite a lot on this forum so you may find it helpful to do a search. However, I think it depends what you want to achieve. I am involved in my first ever layout and vowed that, if I were ever to begin another, I would dispense with the cork underlay. On my 00 gauge layout I find it serves no purpose for sound deadening, is a nuisance if you need to reposition the track and necessitates the use of more ballast. I used cork floortiles (3.5mm thick) at the start of my project because they seemed to be recommended by those with experience but to me it looks overscale (although in fact I think it is technically correct in 00 gauge). It is difficult to change the practice during construction because of the need for a transition to the lower profile so you need to decide before you start. During a recent rare train journey on the East Coast main line I was looking at the ballast and could see little evidence of the shoulder that the underlay gives on my layout. It may be that the arrangement is different these days from that of steam days and I am sure there will be plenty of other opinions.

Harold.

• RMweb Gold

Looking at most track away from yards and it always seems raised up a little. If you use a trackbed your track will be raised a little if laid flat on the ply it won't you can alsways raise the ground level for yards must easier than cutting away the baseboard surface. the exception is for open top boards where the ply base is the trackbed.

Don