Re-using a Bachmann 21-pin decoder ex-Blue Pullman - is it possible?

Mel_H

Hi

Today I've successfully  fitted two Howes sound decoders (one in each power car) to a OO Bachmann Blue Pullman. They work well and the fitting was easy (it's the first time I've done this too).

Therefore, I've now got a pair of 21-pin loco  decoders spare. It occurred to me that I could just fit them into any 21-pin loco - but this doesn't work.

I tried fitted both decoders into a Bachmann D11, but one is uncontrollable - the wheels just rotate at high speed. The other one just provides 'sticky' jerky movement.

Obviously they were programmed for the Blue Pullman. Is there any way I can re-use them? If so, what am I doing wrong. And, what's the fix.

I am new to DCC as you can tell, so please be gentle!

Hope someone can help.

Regards

Mel

What decoder is it? Bachmann have relatively recently introduced a four function 21 pin decoder, item 36-557, and my guess would be that this is associated with the Bogcart Pullman, which needs the extra functions for all its lights?

The 21 pin decoder introduced to their range some years ago, item 36-554, is not ideal for small motored steam models, needs very careful adjustment of the BEMF values to get a decently smooth result. Copes very well as supplied with the good size motor and flywheel combination typical of centre motored diesel chassis though. It may be the 36-557 decoder performs likewise - or not! 

Hi Britannia

Thanks for the advice. It runs fine on DC. In the end, I tried plugging in my new NCE Powercab - and it works beautifully! I had been using a Hornby Select which I have on my workbench coupled to a rolling road. When I tried again with the Select it still didn't work properly and the chip also made a nasty buzzing sound. I guess it must be a Select issue then?

Regards

Mel Holley