Dead Digital Camera

• RMweb Gold

My wife's 5 year old Olympus C-370 camera gave up the ghost at the weekend - it refuses to turn on. The man in the shop said it would be un-economic to repair, considering both the cost and the limited specification.

So what can I do with it? As far as I know the screen should still work - can it be extracted and used somewhere else (preferably in a modelling situation... ) ? How complex would the controlling software need to be to generate a picture ?

I've no ideas/ knowledge in this area, so any help would be welcome.

Ta

Stu

• RMweb Gold

My wife's 5 year old Olympus C-370 camera gave up the ghost at the weekend - it refuses to turn on. The man in the shop said it would be un-economic to repair, considering both the cost and the limited specification.

So what can I do with it? As far as I know the screen should still work - can it be extracted and used somewhere else (preferably in a modelling situation... ) ? How complex would the controlling software need to be to generate a picture ?

Ta

Stu

It could be the screen that has gone short, pulling the general supply down - unless you want to waste some time I would file it in the suitable round file (the bin)

• RMweb Gold

Thanks Dave, that was the suggestion from the bloke who sold me a new Kodak for ??90... Just seems a waste to ditch the whole lot if it can be partly reused.

(Just the miser in me, I guess).

Stu

False economy or law of diminishing returns buddy; so much of this kit is bespoke to its original use that you'll live three lifetimes and still not find a use for it. True of most things in my scrap/ spares bin, except the really obvious stuff like rod, tube, mesh and wire...

I too absolutely hate the seeming waste in a failed digital camera, but being experienced in photographic and electronics, it is usual on failure not to be able to service the cameras. Only total board replacement can be done, and it's not economical to do.