Oxford Diecast trucks in N

Revolution Ben

• RMweb Gold

Hello all,

Recently Oxford Diecast have been bringing out some more "modern image" vehicles; among them a Scania Highline truck with three axle curtain side trailer in Eddie Stobart livery.

Our club layout Horseley Fields requires some modern road vehicles so these were too good an opportunity to miss.

post-420-0-38524600-1399066393_thumb.jpg

The Scania truck is nicely moulded and finished and looks the part.  With the exception of the now-defunct Farish/Intertrans series of six vehicles, British N gauge has lacked modern commercial vehicles; most make do with 1:150 scale Tomytec models of Japanese prototypes such as Hino; or even with the significantly underscale continental models.

post-420-0-99442200-1399066435_thumb.jpg

From the front the tractor certainly looks right to me, though I am no expert on trucks.  The model can be very easily taken apart and features a diecast chassis unit with injection moulded bodies and interior.

post-420-0-26151800-1399066348_thumb.jpg

I decided to relivery one example so the first step was to get rid of the distinctive Stobart livery.  I masked off the cab windows (it's moulded in clear plastic for a nicely flush-glazed look) and sprayed the whole thing white.   I used Tamiya tape, which I have always found the best by some margin.  The mirrors are moulded as part of the cab but this is surprisingly effective.  Annoyingly I forgot to mask off the front where the silver "Scania" lettering is; though I am not sure whether the fading green of the Stobart livery occuldes it slightly.  Academic now!

post-420-0-07608600-1399067205_thumb.jpg