Dropper wire soldering/routing

michaelp

I am about to start and solder the dropper wires to my track but I am unsure of the best way to do this.

Do I solder the wires to the bottom of the rails and how are the droppers routed through the baseboards, do I drill a hole under each rail in the baseboard or just one central hole, also, how long can I safely leave my Antex soldering iron switched on?

I am new to DCC and just want to get it right first time.....hopefully!

Thanks in advance.

Michael

• RMweb Premium

I tried drilling holes directly under the rails and found that the track invariably never wanted to go back down in exactly the same place as before so I reverted to drilling small holes adjacent to the outside of the rails.

Of late I've also taken off more of the sleeving, tinned the last few mm of the exposed wire and then bent the tinned end at 90° and soldered it to the web of the rail. The remaining length of the exposed wire is enough that the sleeving isn't exposed above the baseboard surface and by the time the track is ballasted and the rails painted the wire is almost invisible.

I wouldn't leave your soldering iron on longer than necessary - i.e. turn it off when you go to lunch and overnight, but otherwise it should be quite capable of being left on for several hours.

• Agree 1

• RMweb Gold

I treat my soldering iron in the same way as my DCC controller: I never leave either switched on when I'm not in the room.  I once went on holiday for a week, and when I went into the railway room I found the iron had been on all the time I was away.  The consequences could have been dire ....

• RMweb Gold

Hi Michael,

If you don't like the idea of soldering there is an alternative - use the pre-soldered Power Feed Joiners from Peco together with the DCC Power Bus Kit sold by Express Models.

Have taken a quick picture of what it looks like under the baseboard:

post-586-0-22667700-1399970803.jpg