OO gauge Airfix City of Truro with Branchlines Chassis etc

Hi Folks

As the title says I am new at this so please be kind to me, although constructive criticism is welcomed.

I bought this at the Folkestone show a few years ago as a complete kit at a very reasonable price and thought I would practice on it before building a proper loco kit.

DSCF7155_zps0af9f621.jpg

DSCF7154_zps215ece09.jpg

Chassis kit looks very impressive and goes together well and very easy to assemble square. Gearbox went together well too, ran motor and gearbox for 10 mins either way and then built up and tested as an 0-4-0.  Well chuffed when it ran straight from the off.  I have reamed out each bearing and it runs freely. 

DSCF7160_zps1f3efaab.jpg

DSCF7161_zps5a330a65.jpg

DSCF7162_zps01471a4c.jpg

DSCF7164_zpsdc438c92.jpg

Not sure if I have the front bogie bracket nut/bolt the right way up so when I get upstairs in the loft again I will re check.  Wheel spokes have now been cleaned up and the chassis stripped for painting.  I hand paint my models and use Humbrol enamels mainly.

DSCF7166_zps53bc77d4.jpg

DSCF7165_zpsd9271e19.jpg

I am afraid I do not get modelling time usually Friday and Saturday evenings only. I have since added the rods to hang the brakes on but, I am not sure whether to add the brake hangers/shoes prior to painting or paint and assemble chassis then add, will see how it pans out. 

Thanks for looking

All the best

Chris

• Like 12

Cheers Fella, I have finally plucked up the courage to do a loco.  I am really a Southern Fan although I must confess to some GWR Stock .  I have a LBSC D3 to build and wanted to practice on something before I touched that.

Thanks

All the best
Chris

• Like 2

Hi all some further work

Brake hanger rods added to main chassis

DSCF7179_zps5ecbeaba.jpg

Bogie constructed

DSCF7180_zpsa7c8e131.jpg

DSCF7181_zps9e76914d.jpg

DSCF7183_zps8019f8d7.jpg

DSCF7184_zpsd13ba7e6.jpg

Tender chassis also started

DSCF7186_zps5cd4b7e7.jpg