Railway Modeller Subscription

Savoyard

• RMweb Gold

Yesterday I got a reminder for my Railway Modeller subsription, the cost for 12 months is ??41.40 which is 12 x the Cover Price, not even a small discount on the cover price. Out of interest I did a comparison of the subscriptions of big four (see below) and excluding the free gift, Hornby magazine offers the biggest discount whilst RM offers nothing. BRM offer the best value gift in the form of two videos and guess what RM offers nothing!

I know RM would argue that with a sub you guard against a cover price increase but RM hasn't increased over the last 12 months. I know wonder why should I give RM all my money up front in return for nothing. Is it arrogance or commercial naivety that RM are not giving their subscribers a discount never mind a gift!

I don't think I will be renewing my subscription and I will support my local model shop and I can also decide whether it is worth buying.

RM should wake up to the competition, at present your subscription is lagging far behind in terms of value!

Peter

BRM

Total Issues 12

Cover Price 3.40

Total Yr 40.80

Sub Cost 37.00

Sub Saving 3.80

Gift Value 34.94

Total Extra Value 38.74

Hornby

Total Issues 12

Cover Price 3.45

Total Yr 41.40

Sub Cost 34.50

Sub Saving 6.90

Gift Value 10.00 (approx)

Total Extra Value 16.90

Model Rail

Total Issues 13

Cover Price 3.40

Total Yr 44.20

Sub Cost 39.99

Sub Saving 4.21

Gift Value 20.00

Total Extra Value 24.21

Railway Modeller

Total Issues 12

Cover Price 3.45

Total Yr 41.40

Sub Cost 41.40 Sub Saving Nil

Gift Value Nil

Total Extra Value Nil

• RMweb Premium

Hi

Whilst your figures may be correct for the first year the free gift is not applicable to any further years. The savings after the initial year are not so large.