The Atlantic Project

de Selby

Now that the dust has sort of settled after the RMWeb upgrade, this is my first attempt at re-establishing one of the threads I had running on the old site. The process isn't quite as straightforward as I had assumed, so please bear with me if anything goes slightly awry.

So far, I have concluded: -

I will leave the majority of the old thread on the old site to be archived, but migrate the most recent section to this new thread.

To link the old thread to the new and vice versa to assist navigation.

I'll use thread format rather than blog in this instance (but experiment with the blog format for some other subject, possibly a micro layout or similar).

So, the imported bit of the old thread below sets the scene for the (re?) construction of a pair of K's GN Atlantics. The complete thread covering some East Coast Pacifics as well is below:

Link to the Original Thread on the Old Site

May I just thank again those who left kind comments on the original thread - apologies if there are any which I didn't acknowledge. Thanks too to Martin Wynne for his incredibly useful transfer utility.

To start at the beginning ................

??? posted on Wed Sep 23, 2009 2:23 pm

This isn't actually the project I intended to tackle next; an element of randomness caught me unawares!

As the coal-shovelling season is now winding down a bit (not to mention the house painting season or the gardening season) I may actually have some modelling time soon!

K's kits have come in for a certain amount of adverse comment on the forum in the past - not without justification I would add. But for all their perceived faults; it's still possible to produce reasonable results with a little effort. At least that's the theory.

Furthermore, working on the basis that one of the few things more masochistic than building a K's kit is building two K's kits, off we go....

The story so far....