Thinking of switching to N gauge... any advice?

I've been collecting UK models in OO gauge for nearly 15 years. In that time I've built up a fleet of around 8-9 locomotives (though many others have passed through my care), 20+ carriages & wagons and plenty of track. Might not sound a lot for 15 years of collecting, but the main reason I haven't got more is quite simply that I've never actually had a permanent layout. I've simply had to set up for a day or so every few months, enjoy whilst I can and then pack away again, because we've never had space (small shunting layouts, though wonderful to watch and admire, don't tickle the itch for me).

I'm moving soon and will have to leave my OO collection in store at my parents' house, so I wondered whether it was worth trying to start a small second collection, in N gauge, in the hope that in my new house I might just have enough space to squeeze in a smaller layout.

I know barely anything about N gauge, so wondered if people could help with some advice. From a brief bit of research it looks like N gauge is a bit more expensive than OO second hand because there's less out there and less choice... is that a fair summary? I'd be aiming to start with something like a basic loop of track, an 0-6-0T like an LMS 3F or Hunslet Austerity  and a couple of coaches. I guess I'd also need a power supply - don't know what that would be like in 'N'.

• How much would I reasonably expect to pay for a small tank engine and some coaches, second hand?
  • Experienced OO modellers often suggest that old Mainline & Airfix locos in that scale should be avoided as the split chassis design can be a problem. Is there anything similar that I should know in N gauge?
  • Has anyone ever done N gauge starter sets?
  • What is the N gauge equivalent of the standard OO 6'x4' layout - would it be 2'x3'?

What other advice would you give? Is it worthwhile or would I be wasting my time and money?

Thanks!

• RMweb Gold