DCC Sound

Chrisjh

I am relatively new to DCC having converted I am hightly delighted. However, in view of the complexity of all the different functions by different manufacturers I am just wondering if there is a template available that shows the different functions by each manufacturer ona sinle template? Many thanks and best wishes, Chris

• RMweb Premium

The short answer is, no. I've standardised on Zimo, because of their high quality. You can find a comprehensive list of their decoders and functions on their website. You'd have to go to other manufactures sites to find the details of their products.

There are some functions that are required to be to NMRA standards, but they won't answer your question.

Functions tend to mostly the same on sound decoders, and up to 20+.  Make sure your system can access all these.  Like Peterm, I have standardized on Zimo although my locos are 0 gauge.  I have bought my sound decoders from Digitrains.

John

• Like 1

• RMweb Premium
1 hour ago, brossard said:

Functions tend to mostly the same on sound decoders, and up to 20+.  Make sure your system can access all these.  Like Peterm, I have standardized on Zimo although my locos are 0 gauge.  I have bought my sound decoders from Digitrains.

John

Same here, John.  All decoders from Digitrains, sound files too. One loco; the DP1 has a Loksound because I couldn't get a decent file for a Zimo. Unless I start it at speed step 1, it won't start smoothly using the acc setting. CV2 is set at 1 and CV3 is at a high figure (can't remember exactly) and should be smoother, but that's another story.

• RMweb Gold

Chris, when I first read your post I wasn't sure how to answer.  When you say "manufacturer" are you asking about the model manufacturer for sound fitted locos off the shelf.  Or are you talking about the different sound decoder manufacturers?  Or are you asking about the different makers and distributors of sound files that you can reblow a decoder with?

Steve