Users will currently see a stripped down version of the site until an advertising issue is fixed. If you are seeing any suspect adverts please go to the bottom of the page and click on Themes and select IPS Default. ×
RMweb

Dangerous 13A Plugs

I purchased an electric fire earlier this year from a well known DIY chain’s store and noticed a slight burning/electrical smell when I first used it. I thought the smell was due to the fire being new and thought no more about it. With the summer the fire was not used however with the onset of Autumn I started using the fire again and the smell was still apparent.

On Tuesday this week the fire suddenly stopped working and on investigation I found that the 13A plug had melted leaving a hole in the top with the live pin exposed. Being a former electronics engineer I am always careful with faulty electrical equipment which is just as well as the plug for this fire was behind it and I could of easily reached behind and drawn current like a 3rd rail EMU! :angry:

In my opinion the reason for this failure was that the fuse holder was made of metal that was too thin and could not handle the current passing through it for a sustained period of time. I have checked on the web and there are numerous reports of similar incidents of faulty 13A plugs.

The store in question has acted in a professional manner has refunded the cost of the electric fire and sent it to a special department they have for incidents such as this. I have contacted Trading Standards who are also looking in to this issue.

Below are some photos of the damaged plug please look at the markings and check you have none of these plugs in your house as they could cause serious injury or worse to you or members of your family.

DSCN1195.jpg DSCN1210.jpg

DSCN1176.jpg

Xerces Fobe

On the pin side of the plug does it give the maximum rated current? Sometimes you see them rated at less than 13A, in which case somebody is at fault in fitting it to the fire with a 13A fuse.