Fitting etched nameplates

Hi all,

I'm working on a Hornby class 60 at the moment, weathering it over the factory finish rather than painting from scratch, and I wanted to fit etched plates when done. I ordered a pair of 4mm scale 60014 "Alexander Fleming" plates from Fox, and when I checked them against the body they're about 2mm shorter than the printed plates, which are 24mm long :(

I must admit I'd never thought to check - it's not like there are other suppliers of 60s and I just assumed the plates would fit. Are there others (Shawplan?) which are the right length or will I need to remove the printed plates somehow? If so, can anyone offer any tips on doing this neatly without spoiling the factory paint?

Many thanks,

Will

I don't know - I've never tried it before! I've done some more searching and read that James Makin had removed logos from a Hornby 60 using enamel thinners, so that might be a good place to start. I'll try a wee corner and see what happens.

Thanks,

Will

• RMweb Premium

I found it very frustrating to discover the etched nameplates supplied with a class 47 were fractionally smaller than the printed ones. The etched logos were unusable for the same reason. Currently all are sitting in the workbench drawer marked "loco bits" pending a suitable means of removing the printed plates.

I'll go check buffalo's links. While Im away doing that does anyone have any tips as to the best adhesive to use for etched plates? I find only superglue type adhesives will create the required bond but they have the disadvantage of being quite fluid; this can lead to runs or surplus oozing out onto the bodyside with potentially damaging results.

Brake fluid will remove the Hornby printing. Apply it carefully with a small brush, then keep an eye on it. The silver will come away first (IIRC). Periodically test how its doing by wiping off with a damp cotton bud. Dry off with towel and reapply brake fluid if it hasn't come away completely.