Ebay and foreign bidders

Mikkel

• RMweb Gold

I've been buying via the uk ebay site for many years from Denmark. Often these auctions are stated as being for UK bidders only (probably a default setting), so I usually send the seller a message and ask if I can bid anyway. I normally get a positive answer and so place my bid.

However, recently the system has come up with a message saying I was not allowed to place my bid as the auction is for uk bidders only. sad.gif Does anyone know how to solve this problem? Does the seller have to change the settings to allow for international bidders before I can bid?

• RMweb Gold

i normally just put international postage on my listings which attracts bidders from all over the world without problems, however i've just listed an item which i want to get maximum exposure, when it came to the listing fee page it said "show item on ebay usa and canada" for 5p extra, first time i've seen that on any listing i've done so it may well have changed (certainly within the last week), probably another way for ebay to get more fees off you!!

• RMweb Gold

Hmm, that does sound a bit worrying.

And an odd strategy too: 5p isn't the world, but surely ebay would ultimately benefit more from encouraging international trade on items (ie more bidders per item) rather than adding to the constraints for it. huh.gif

When I have struck that I have emailed the seller and the majority change the parameters to allow me to bid.

A couple have still insisted on a UK postal address but the majority have been good.

I have found from contacting sellers that a lot have been caught with slow/non-payers as well. I also gather the "not received" item is probably an issue. :angry:

I must say to date I have not had a parcel go astray from an ebay seller. :rolleyes: