So, Somercombe died a death because it was too easy to sit there and run train around in circles. Tolmouth died because it was too ambitious in the space available. To be honest, I'm not very good at planning, I tend to start with an idea and let it grow. But this time it will be different. I have a plan, or at least borrowed one. It's from Iain Rice's Mainlines in Modest Spaces and it's of Binegar on the Somerset and Dorset. The plan was drawn to fit a garage 16' x 9' and I have 19'5" x 9'10". The extra length will be used to get a 4 arch viaduct, a la Wellow, in and the width for extra storage roads. Those with the book can turn to pages 84/5. The viaduct will fit in at the Radstock end of the station, replacing bridge no 65. Also the station will be straighter, as in real life and the quarry replaced by a coal mine, though only the screens shall be modelled in part relief. Apart from that, the trackplan will remain as in the book. The ruling gradient will be 1:80 as Bachmann loco's will handle a realistic load up this on Tolmouth, any steeper and they struggle. This will mean that the return line for a continuous run can be shallower. The only other changes to the plan will be cosmetic, namely brewery warehouse will be a brewery and the door opening area will be home to the village of Whatever.

Already been getting the odd bits and pieces built. The station itself is Ratio's Castle Cary. The signal box is also Ratio, but with the window frames modified to the 3 pane type common on the S&D. As it's not Binegar I can have water cranes and a tower, Mikes Models and Wills. The Whitaker banking engine key exchange apparatus is to be modelled from a Lochgorm kit for a Highland Railway type. A Bath 9F has been purchased as has a Radstock Jinty for the banking engine.

Still a few weeks away from ripping up Tolmouth and getting started, so updates will be sparse until late September most likely, though there may be a few of structures as they get completed.