A sleepy Westcountry harbour scene (fictional)

Marcuspaints

Well, I discussed my ideas on this thread a couple of weeks ago ... http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/86672-criticisms-for-my-new-layout-please/ and, having received a couple of very sensible suggestions, made a couple of changes that ended up with my final paper plan looking something like this...

layout7_zps9c3f7766.jpg

I immediately got going with the baseboard and laid a foam trackbed as a bit of an experiment, as I've never used it before, and have to say so far it seems to do the job well. The whole baseboard is nice and light and can be popped away under the stairs when the space is needed in the lounge for family matters. :)

Baseboard-1_zps757449d3.jpg

I then got into the somewhat complex job of laying the track and wiring it up, which was fun as I'm a bit out of practice with that side of things but thankfully it all seems to work ! I've gone with an analogue layout and have ensured that all sidings have isolated sections to ensure plenty of scope for visiting locos  and lots of shunting... So, I'm now at this stage and just taking a short break while I work out (First) what the next step will be and (next) what form of control I'm going to use on the points. All turnouts have slots cut under them ready to fit whatever system I decide to go with...

So here is where I am now and hopefully I'll be keeping this up to date as I move forward   Any ideas from anyone very welcome as it's a long time since I've been building a layout and no doubt I'll need to be picking brains... :)

Baseboard-2_zps979906c7.jpg