Suitable adhesive for etched nameplates?

Don't use adhesive. Use double-sided tape. Suitably trimmed, it's invisible and when you decide it's not quite straight after all the next morning, just give it a nudge with a finger nail to straighten it.

That would be my advice anyway.

Cheers,

Dave

Evostick. In my capacity as a professional model painter I used it for over forty years on name and number plates. Thats a lot of locomotives!

Yes, Evostick (or similar impact adhesive) is very good for nameplates. It grabs well but retains a degree of flexibilty for several minutes while drying allowing the position and orientation to be fine-tuned. Apply small amounts to the back of the nameplate and the body of the loco using a cocktail stick. Wait a few minutes for the glue to go tacky and then carefully press into position and get it squared.

Well, that's that wrapped up then, it's obviously best to use double-sided tape, err well maybe satin varnish, errr no, matt varnish, errm evostick err wait a minute, I mean krystal clear... :lol:

Glad to see such a good general consensus on the best way to attached nameplates. ;) It just goes to show how many perfectly valid techniques there are in our hobby, all to produce the same result. Great stuff.

Cheers,

Dave

Er, they're only valid if they stand the test of time. :D

Well, it seemed like there were a lot of "I've been doing it this way for years"-type statements in this thread, so I'm guessing most of these methods do stand the test of time. I've certainly never had any time-related problems with the double-sided tape method and I can still adjust them if I don't think they're quite straight when viewed from a certain angle. It also enables the plates to be removed without trace in the event of de- or renaming.

Well, it seemed like there were a lot of "I've been doing it this way for years"-type statements in this thread, so I'm guessing most of these methods do stand the test of time.