Peco Double Slip Advice

Cardiff Bluebird

Hello,

Ive designed a trackplan for my new layout, but in order to save space I would like to use a double slip point instead of three normal points. Im using DCC the whole look of the Double Slip even using normal power method looks very scary let alone with DCC!.

Im also very new to model railway wiring so would someone who has a double slip be kind enough to give some advice on the wiring of them please? Are they best avoid?

Should I use a electrofrog unit or a isloated frog ?

Ive search the forum and cant find a topic about the slip only the crossing.

Kind Regards

Bluebird.

We've got a Peco double slip on our layout and we use DCC. For starters Peco only make insulfrog ones so that makes life easier. Another useful tip is that a double slip is really just two points toe to toe in a smaller space, therefore you always have a feed to the centre of the double slip. We've not modified the point in anyway (as far as I can remember) but there are two factors worth mentioning:

1) We've got changeover switches on the point motors to change the polarity of the rails either side of the frog to ensure the supply is not just via the point blades

2) Glenn spent an age inserting fillets of plasticard under the applicable sleepers until an 08 ran over the double slip at dead slow speed with no stopping.

There are areas where one (or possibly two) of the wheelsets of an 08 are not being supplied either due to the dead frog or dips between the point blades in the centre. The changeover switches, very level pointwork and an 08 fitting with a Lenz Power One module (a device to keep it running when there is a split second loss of supply) all ensure that so long as the track and the loco wheels are clean we never have any problems.