The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

RMWeb Curry Club.

C126

• RMweb Gold

I hesitate to suggest this, as I am unable to visit RMWeb daily myself and things seem a little unstable at the moment, so I might not be able to contribute as often as I would like, but would anyone else like a 'space' to enthuse about Indian food?  Whether it is to seek help with menus, recommend recipes, share your phantasy 14-course curry banquet, or just ask a question, perhaps we could help each other.  If I may give a couple of examples:

(1) Is it worth seeking out a restaurant with a charcoal-fired Tandoor?  Does one notice the difference in taste?

(2) Have you made at home a decent version of Bhel Puri?  What was your recipe?

I confess to being one who could eat curry happily three times a day for the rest of my life, and ate it daily for dinner in my 'batchelor days'.  I am no expert cook, sometimes using jars of pastes from well-known manufacturers, but I do like playing around with recipes and eating curry.  I know little about the subject, but use mainly north-Indian recipes I am told, currently trying marinating paneer, then grilled with tomatoes and chunks of red pepper.  I believe south Indian recipes use fish and cocoa-nut more, of which I am less fond.

Alternatively, if this is a silly idea when we have enough to read already that is distracting us, treat my suggestion with the contempt it deserves and ignore this.  Thanks for giving it your consideration.

• Like 13

I like an Indian Rogan Josh / Biryani now and again but could never handle a Madras or Vindaloo.