Should I go 00 Gauge or TT:120 Gauge?

Delorean1984

Hey all

I have been looking on this site on and off for a little while now and had some help from some fellow members, mainly from @Harlequina few years back when I wanted to build a layout for my daughters and myself.

Back then I had space in the garage to build a 10ft x 5ft layout and this would be my first layout I have ever built, complete newbie. However never got round to building it and also something just didn't feel right building it in the garage where it would only get used part of the year and also would be subject to big temperature differences etc.

Anyway 2.5 years on, I might have a spare space inside the house where I can now build it and it would be better. I want to try and keep things simple for me to build and something my daughters will enjoy helping to build and more importantly using it. I don't have much experience apart from playing with train sets when I was young myself but do have a good idea of how things can be built on a layout. The space inside the house would not allow the same size as  what the garage did but I can certainly fit an 8ft x 5ft layout with a 4ft x 2.25ft well in middle (if tucked right up to the wall), if not I can omit the well and move away from the wall so I don't have to stretch over. I think this size layout as a first layout is quite generous.

Alternatively I can do an L shape board layout (without the well but tucked into corner of room), a 6ft x 4ft board with another 4ft x 2.5ft board attached to it. My concern with this setup is stretching over the board to build, I won't be able to stretch that far, especially in the corners unless I move the layout away from the wall and allow for access behind it but this will therefore make the layout smaller too.

I also have to think about playability too, I do feel my first idea is the better of the two. What are you thoughts on this?