Peco point motors and switches

It has been suggested to me that Peco point motors can be fiddly to set-up and the associated switches for power routing are unreliable.

My experience has been that the motors are bullet proof but I have no experience with their switches

What does everyone think?

thks

Does anybody else have 2c they want to share? It would be good to get a broad picture. I'd prefer to use Peco because it suits my purposes for other reasons but not if the whole arrangement would then end up very unreliable.

Craig - how would the microswitches act on the vertical? What part of the point would move the microswitch contact and secondly wouldn't the mounting position have to be very precise for this to work? I was wondering about using relays paralled off the point control as well

thks

• RMweb Premium

Does anybody else have 2c they want to share? It would be good to get a broad picture. I'd prefer to use Peco because it suits my purposes for other reasons but not if the whole arrangement would then end up very unreliable.

Craig - how would the microswitches act on the vertical? What part of the point would move the microswitch contact and secondly wouldn't the mounting position have to be very precise for this to work? I was wondering about using relays paralled off the point control as well

thks

Hi

I use both Peco Point motors and their PL15 switches on sixty points and don't have any issues. I did have problems with the PL13 type on a previous layout.

Cheers

Paul

• RMweb Gold

Gordon H steered me away from Peco PL13s when I had terrible trouble with them on Summat Colliery (especially in dusty environments)

This thread on the old forum sums it up really.

All you need is some cheap long armed microswitches (Maplin, RS, Rapid etc etc) and some wooden blocks to space them away from the baseboard.