Kempenfelt's P4 Workbench

I've been dabling in P4 now for a few years and despite starting quite a few different projects, to date I stil haven't managed to finish any of them!

One such project that was started and has even been running on a rolling road with the help from a pair of croc clips, is a High Level 3f Jinty chassis. Having found the reciept I discovered to my horror that I actually started this chassis 5 years ago! With the start of the New Year and a lot of arm twisting from my fellow Glevum members I thought it would make a good New Years resolution to get on and finish this chassis together with a few of my other projects! Nothing like annoucing my intensions on RMWeb to pile on the pressure! :D

The Jinty Chassis is my first attempt at any sort of loco building and as a result my initial intensions were to build it as per the instructions. Being P4 it was going to require compensation or springing and with the kit designed for compensation on the leading and middle axle's, and driven off a rear fixed axle, so this was the route I decided to take.

Inspired by the work of Morgan Gilbert of the Glevum S4 group, I decided that my first diversion from the kit as intended would be the inclusion of a keeper plate. This would allow me to drop out the wheels for painting and maintanence purposes. I also wanted to include a version of Morgan's buss bar arrangement that allows a removable alternative pick up arrangement to the plunger pick ups that the kit was designed for. Unfortunately because I took the decision to modify the chassis partway through the build the driven axle remains fixed and cannot be dropped out from the chassis.

The only other modification I have made to date is the replacement on the supplied MJT hornblocks. I originally tried the London Road version's but found these were too imposing on the dummy inside valve gear, instead plumping for the Brassmasters milled versions.