Tale of a Parkside Virgin

Ok Santa kindly left a Parkside Dundas PC50 LNER standard cattle truck for me.

I've never built a kit before so I'am after help and advise on what to do.

When complete it will be used on my Deadwater Burn layout.

1, Where do I start, build first then paint or other way round?

2, Transfers who does them?

3, Detailing, are there anybody out there who does extras?

All help and advise will be gratefully accepted

A good source of ideas can be found in Getting The Best From Plastic Wagon Kits by Ian Rice / Irwell Press , also his Detailing and Improving Ready to Run Wagons may be of help.

Geoff Kent produced a good series of books on wagon building and detailing as well.

Gordon A

Bristol

Just built one of these myself. I find Parkside instruction simple and clear. Their kits go together very well with little or no flash and not much fettling to be done. My normal method for these is to build the body and spray it, paint the inside before putting the roof on, spray the underframe before assembly and touch up when all together. Finally weather.

1, Where do I start, build first then paint or other way round?

Read the instructions

followed by:

Read the instructions and familiarise yourself with the parts.

followed by:

make sure you have the tools to do the job.

- a sharp (best new) scalpel blade

- a cutting surface (the self healing mats are great)

- glue/bonding solvent

I usually build first then paint - or at least build chassis and body separate and paint.

3, Detailing, are there anybody out there who does extras?

Any detailing usually involves things like:

- replacing handrails/bars/etc with brass wire

- substituting brass (sprung) chassis (probably best if EM/P4 ing)

- adding more weight

Otherwise the Parkside kits go together really well and require no further work to present them as good models.