Best coach kit for a beginner?

Hi All

I'm sure this has been asked before.. and pardon me if it's staring me in the face..

But I am interested in building some GWR coaches to add to my fleet of existing coaches. I am mostly looking for Toplight and 70' coaches, but anything right now would be good as a start.

I've never worked with brass and would prefer to avoid it if possible, as I've never worked with it before and would hate to totally botch it up. I'm also not interested in the coaches with pre-printed sides (PC Models, ect).

If possible.. does anyone make plastic coaches? I've seen the Slaters, but I don't want Clerestory stock.

Any thoughts or suggestions?

Thanks!

There are toplight coaches in the Slaters range as well as clerestories. I have never built one as, sadly, they had gone from active service by the late 50s/early 60s but they are well regarded. I would suggest reading the chapter in "The 4mm Coach" by Stephen Williams and the article in MRJ66 by Guy Williams before you decide whether to do one yourself.

Chris

I would suggest a Slaters (now Coopercraft) brake third (the roof fits better for some reason), combined with some aftermarket bogies. The Slaters bogies are works of art but a bit problematic as regards their running qualities...

Another option is to overlay brass sides onto RTR plastic coaches. I've done a few based on the Hornby Colletts, the Hornby/Airfix Centenaries, and the Bachmann/Mainline Colletts. You do have to fettle Comet sides to fit both the Colletts due to their minor discrepancies in length.

Examples of simple ones I've done are a C54 all-third on a Hornby Collett, an E153 BCK on a Bachmann Collett, and a C69 all-third on a Centenary.

Examples (and a discussion of Slaters bogies) here: http://www.rmweb.co.uk/community/index.php?/topic/28388-adrians-coach-works/

Adrian