Improving Peco Points (again!)

As a newbie, I must apologise for probably going over old ground... but its all new to me... having only recently returned to the modelling fold after a 30+ years absence. Old, yes, but grumpy, no, and as keen as mustard!

Love the C&L flexitrack (OO), and, to cut a long deliberation short, I've decided to combine it with Peco '75' turnouts. Argghhhh I hear you all say, but give me a break... I'm in my 60's and need to get a move on!

I'd seen the combination 'in the flesh' , and with failing eyesight, and really good weathering/ballasting, it wasn't too jarring! But, you can't imagine my delight when I came across an ancient post (via google) by 'beast 66606' (Dave?) titled 'Improve your Peco Points'. What a star!

Brilliant idea... getting rid of the 'mechanism'... and those 'joined at the hip' sleepers.

I wonder, though, if its practical to go one step further... and actually replace the tie bar with a view to narrowing down the 'gaping gap' between the switches and stock rails. Seems even a mm would make a significant difference (about the same as exists between the wing rails and the crossing V). Has anyone out there dared try this, because if they have LET US ALL KNOW!

Best wishes to all

Al

• RMweb Gold

I'd seen the combination 'in the flesh' , and with failing eyesight, and really good weathering/ballasting, it wasn't too jarring! But, you can't imagine my delight when I came across an ancient post (via google) by 'beast 66606' (Dave?) titled 'Improve your Peco Points'. What a star!

Brilliant idea... getting rid of the 'mechanism'... and those 'joined at the hip' sleepers.