New Devon Based Website

I am no website developer, but Kris, Coombe Barton and I have formed a mini group to help modellers and enthusiasts of railways in South Devon, both deceased, proposed and preserved. This is the start of our little site, I would like an idea of what it needs to be better. We are looking at ways of using free sites to host extra content like pictures and there are details of all the proposed stuff in the "about" page. Tell us what you think, remembering we are NOT professional web folk, nor is our site commercial

link here

If that doesn't work try the one on my signature below!

• RMweb Gold

Great idea and obviously very early days but as a touch of 'professionalism' you need a bit more care with spelling (look at the Yealmpton branch article to see what I mean). I can let you have some pics of the preserved lines (and a few from much earlier if poorer quality is acceptable) as long as the copyright remains with me.

DD,

Looking good but can I suggest that the text colour be lighter. (grey on black is a bit hard to read)

• RMweb Premium

Thanks for those comments Mike and Derek. Some spell checking has now occurred and I have altered the font colour on the main body text to increase the contrast and make it easier to read.

• RMweb Gold

I am no website developer, but Kris, Coombe Barton and I have formed a mini group to help modellers and enthusiasts of railways in South Devon, both deceased, proposed and preserved.

I think helping deceased modellers & enthusiasts is a much neglected area of endeavour! Only kidding! A very good idea, and you are off to a fine start. Don't forget, though, that a website seems really exciting when you start it off, but can become a real chore over time. Make sure you share the tasks a bit to prevent this happening too soon. You probably all have a number of exacting tasks in your everyday life, without adding to the pressure in your own time.