Where do you all get your inspiration and setting ideas from - total newbie asking

Not a single place for me. I just flick through books and magazines, and the interweb and sometimes things catch my eye. My best layouts are generally inpsired by a single photo - not necessarily one of model I'll actually build, but one that embodies the atmosphere, or something about the model I want to build.

The thing is, inspiration can strike at any time, you just have to keep looking!

• Like 5
  • Agree 7

• RMweb Gold

Generally either something I have read about or seen a photo of in the prototype, then a distillation process where that matches with the practicalities of modelling it in space I have available. That is where modelling publications & YouTube come in.

It does work the other way too though, example the Inglenook shunting puzzle; however, to try to be authentic it is necessary (for me) to have some resemblance to a real setting. Others model and run what they want.

Edited by john new
Posted accidentally before I had finished writing it!
  • Like 4

…never stop looking…always evaluate every prototype to see whether it ticks your boxes.

Include the full range of modelling skills in your project, from RTR, kit & scratch builds to help round out your natural ability and have something running relatively quickly.

BeRTIe

Edited by BR traction instructor
  • Like 1
  • Agree 3
  • Interesting/Thought-provoking 1

I have a Triang Princess and two 6" nails...where's my W.H.Smith's "Trains of the world" book? Or something along those lines! (No pun intended)  🤔

• Like 1

• RMweb Gold