Why is there such a lack of AC EMUs represented in model form?

Class365

I'm fairly new to the hobby, and one of the main things I noticed when searching for rolling stock is the lack of any AC EMUs. I find this weird considering there are many AC locomotives available, such as the class 86, 87, 90, 91, etc. From what I have seen at various exhibitions I have visited, modelling the west and east coast mainlines in periods after electrification seems to be pretty popular, and there are more and more layouts set in the present day, yet there are no EMUs to operate alongside the various locomotives. I guess you could argue that EMUs don't have as much prestige or interest as locomotives, but there are already a lot of "boring" trains produced, like the many first generation DMUs which seem pretty popular.

So I don't understand why there is such a gap in the market as far as AC EMUs are concerned. Is it because companies are too afraid to make the "leap" in case the product fails, or is there another reason?

• Like 1

32 minutes ago, montyburns56 said:

1. Expensive to produce as they are usually 3 or 4 car trains

2. Most were generally built for a specific line or area so theoretically they will only be bought by those who model that area.

3. Not that many people (as a portion of modellers)  model AC electric lines.

1 no more expensive than a 3 car DMU

2. A class 313, 314,315,507 and 508

Class 317,318,455

Class 320,321,322 

These families of unit operated over many areas of the country, over many years and in many liveries.

3 chicken and egg. If you want to make a model based in Scotland do you model OHLE when there are no models of EMUs to run under them? 

I would also say a class 303 would go down well operated around Glasgow and Manchester one even was based at Clacton. They would sell better than a North Eastern electric loco that only operated on one line.