Professional photography

Phil Bullock

• RMweb Gold

Morning all

Chris is coming to take photos of Abbotswood on Thursday!

I wonder if there are any experiences of professional photography that forum members might care to pass on please

Thanks in advance

Phil

• RMweb Premium

It's a bit obvious really but make sure the layout is clean. Dust and cobwebs won't impress Mr. Nevard or lead to the best results.

Chris is a Gent so I have no doubt you will enjoy the process and he always finds a new view/angle that you didn't expect.

Cheers

Dave

I was going to say 'put the kettle on'

as someone has already said, I imagine that just making sure the layout will run well and is presentable. Unlike an exhibition you can give things the odd poke, or place them in position, but, personally as a photographer I like to look through the camera as something moves and press the shutter when it's where it looks good, so things working would help that.

*i've not photographed many model railways, cars, steam trains and weddings are my normal subjects

• RMweb Gold

The layout don't have to work at all! Chris will spend all his time arranging your toy trains in interesting places and as has been said finding unusual angles for pics.

Enjoy the day, I'd love Chris to do a shoot of one of my layouts for MR, one day maybe. ......

all of the above plus make sure you have plenty of room clear around the layout..... tripods eat space and maintaining a nice perspective eats even more and whatever is left will get scoffed by lightstands, kitbags etcetc. Have a good one

• RMweb Gold

Nice ideas folks

We are setting up in local community centre so plenty of room there for Chris to work - we use the B&Q hire van for transport, only £14 for an hour at each end of the day much cheaper that whole day hire.