The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

Lifespan of wireless mice

34theletterbetweenB&D

As topic title. After many years - probably more than ten - of pounding the desktop, my Siemens Fujitsu wireless laser mouse appears to have a growing appetite for the electric. Did wonder if it might be the rechargeable AA's fading away, but no, it eats a pair of regular Duracells in a couple of weeks, which type of cell typically lasted 3 - 4 months when it was new, and before I switched to rechargeables. The contacts in the battery compartment are all bright and shiny and highly conductive by ohmmeter check, so that's not the trouble.

Any thoughts? Do I have to plan for a sad event involving expenditure?

I have been using a wireless mouse (the same one) for many years when I travel with my laptop.  Experience has taught me to turn one of the batteries round when packed for travelling otherwise it switches on in the bag and discharges.  It takes 2 AAA batteries and I always make sure I have spares with me.  Battery life is difficult to estimate but seems pretty good and I don't think has declined.

• RMweb Gold

My mouse batteries last for months - and I play on-line war games quite frequently as well as "normal" use.

They aren't expensive so unless budget is tight get yourself a new one (mouse).

I bought a wireless mouse on Ebay. It went through batteries like crazy and then packed up altogether after a couple of months.

Moral: Be careful what you get from Ebay - as if you didn't know that already; it is just me who is naive.

My Microsoft mouse eats batteries, about 1 every 2 months. My Logitech Mouse and Keyboard at work haven't had the batteries changed in 3 years and they are on all the time. The uSoft one is Bluetooth the Logitech one's have their own little base station and I don't think they use Bluetooth. Maybe the wireless technology used makes a difference?

Regards,

John P