The non-railway and non-modelling social zone. Please ensure forum rules are adhered to in this area too!

England in colour in 1928...

Rugd1022

Fantastic - I wonder if these have been colour enhanced?  The colours certainly look very natural.

I'm no photography expert but I am struck by the model-like look of the first and fourth, and maybe some others,  I realized that it is because the background is out of focus, much like you'd get when photographing models.  This is usually because of limited depth of field.  However with a full sized subject at something like 10 metres you would expect the focus to be infinity, thus the background would also be in focus.  I'd welcome any explanation for this......

They are marvellous.

I think the saturation may be a little high, purely because of the long exposure times, but they show how colourful the inter-war years were.

We get a rather duller impression from the multitudes of b/w prints.

Note that on the photo of the woman posting a letter there are 7 collections listed for weekdays - Royal Mail please take notice.

Apparently in those days you could post a letter across London and get a reply the same day.......

Yes, the red pillar box appears to show seven collection times for the day !  I can only recall having two morning collections (Mum called the later one the second post) and two afternoon, the last being at 6 pm.  So in our town, you could certainly post a letter early and get a reply the same day !

Today's postal system has it all ass-upperts emptying boxes at 9am and delivering mail in't middle of afternoon! Lovely pictures though and it shows that humans dont change, just technology. Some woman's clothing would look fashionable today!